Ohio2006 Blog

News, analysis, and comments on Ohio elections.

Wednesday, February 8

OH House 74th & 75th: Republicans Spar Over Open Seats

The shuffling of term-limited Republicans is reviewed in this Toledo Blade story. House incumbents Stephen Beuhrer (R-Delta) and Ron Hoops (R-Napoleon) are vacating their 74th and 75th District seats, respectively, and will vie for term-limited State Senator Lynn Wachtmann's 1st District seat. Wachtmann (R-Napoleon), meanwhile, will battle County Commissioner Tony Burkley (R-Paulding) for the House 75th District seat, and former newspaper editor Marcus Bowling (R-Wauseon), school administrator Bruce Goodwin (R), and attorney Ted Penner (R-Noble Township) will duke it out for the Republican nomination in the House 74th District. The only Democratic candidate to come to my attention in any of these very red districts is Ben McCullough (D-Montpelier), a 19-year-old student at Wittenberg University, who will seek the 74th District seat. Go, Ben!
UPDATE: I've just learned that 24-year-old graduate student Angie Byrne (D-Van Wert) is committed to carrying the Democratic banner in the Ohio House 75th District. Best of luck with your campaign, Angie!


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home