Ohio2006 Blog

News, analysis, and comments on Ohio elections.

Sunday, April 23

Ohio House 11th, 13th, 16th & 43rd: Candidates Drop Out

A check of revised candidate lists at the Cuyahoga County and Summit County Boards of Elections reveal that the following candidates have withdrawn from Ohio House of Representative races:

* Joshua Wallace (D-Cleveland) is no longer a candidate in the 11th District, leaving six Democrats and no Republican in the race for the seat being vacated by Rep. Annie Key (D-Cleveland) to run for the Ohio Senate;

* Ernest M. Phillips (D-Lakewood) has left the 13th District race, leaving only homemaker Ben Perry (D-Lakewood) to challenge incumbent Rep. Michael Skindell (D-Lakewood) in the Democratic primary, with write-in candidate John Hildebrand (R-Lakewood) on the Republican side;

* County party-endorsed Lanene Marie Meslat (D-Westlake) is out of the 16th District race, leaving write-in candidate Michael O'Shea (D-Rocky River), a city prosecutor, as the only Democrat to face Ed Herman (R-Rocky River) in the general election for the seat of term-limited incumbent Rep. Sally Conway Kilbane (R-Rocky River); and,

* Jack Sarver (D-Tallmadge) is no longer in the 43rd District race, where Stephen Dyer (D-Tallmadge) and Christopher Stoll (D-Franklin Township) vie for the right to oppose Christine Croce (R-Green) for the seat of incumbent Rep. Mary Taylor (R-Uniontown), who is running for Auditor.


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home